To commemorate the 25th Anniversary of Volkssport in Alberta in 2010 the VAA chose to honour the founding members of Volkssport, the VAA, and local clubs who continued to support volkssport and who have since retired from active local participation.

Dr. Charles Godberson (deceased 2022)
Involved with the start of Volkssport in Alberta through the MTTA (Midnight Twilight Tourist Association). First VAA President from 1986-1989 then Past President. 

David Phillips:  
Involved with the start of Volkssport in Alberta through the MTTA . Served as the first VAA Secretary for 4 years also the Alberta representative to the CVF (Canadian Volkssport Federation). Still involved in volkssport since moving to Ontario.

Jock & Jean Archer:  
Jock was involved with the start of Volkssport in Alberta, serving as the MTTA President at the time of the first walk in Barrhead in 1985. He served on the VAA as a Director, helped with trails and served as Historian for 12 years. Founded the Gibbons Biped Locomotors club and served as President for 12 years from 1990 – 2002. Jock also was Volkssport Canada Editor for the CVF and the Alberta Director. His wife Jean was always there helping out; cooking many hot dogs at the Gibbons walks.

Doreen Lawrence (deceased 2017):  
Was involved right from the beginning helping with the Barrhead walk in 1985. She served as a Director with the VAA and was a founding member of the Barrhead Walkie Talkie Volkssport Club serving as the first President in 1988 and held that position for many years. Doreen helped the club with their BBQs until 2016.

Bill (deceased 2017) & June (deceased 2014)  Hughes: 
Bill served as the VAA President from 1991-1994, then Past President and as a Director. He was co-founder of the Wetaskiwin Volkssport Club, serving as President from 1990 – 2003, then Past President and Director. June served on the club board as Secretary, Treasurer and as a Director.

Phil (deceased 2021) & Pat Sturges (deceased 2022):  
Pat and Phil both volunteered with the MTTA. Phil went on to become the VAA President from 1994-1996, Past President, Secretary, Material Manager, Historian, Sanction Coordinator, Director, Auditor and helped with trails. Phil served the Trekkers as President from 1991-1993, Past President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Membership. Pat served with the VAA as Event Calendar Editor and Publication Distributor, and with the Trekkers as Secretary, Newsletter Editor and Membership. 

Grace & Gord Newman:  
Grace served the VAA as President from 1996-1999, Past President, Vice President, Fundraising Coordinator, Materials Manager, Publication Distributor, CVF Convention Committee, and helped with trials. She also served as the Alberta Director to the CVF. With the Trekkers Grace served as Second Vice President, Publicity. Gord was always there to lend a helping hand.

Norm & Margaret Fraser: 
Norm served the VAA as Vice President, Director, auditor and helped with trails. He was a founding member of the Devon Discovery Walkers and served as the President from the founding in 1991 until 2006. Margaret who was also a founding member of the Devon club served as Membership and Publicity

Bob & Sandra Pass:  
Bob was the founder of Mountain Majesty in 1989 (name changed to AB Majesty 2002) setting all of the trails for ten years. He also served as the Trekkers President from 1990-1991, Past President, Secretary, Trail Blazer and set up all the Marathon trails for many years. Sandra served as the Trekkers Social Convenor and was always there to help out for Mountain Majesty.

In 2011 the VAA was proud to announce the awarding of more VAA Honorary Memberships 

Helen Rousseau
Helen was involved since the start of volkssporting in Alberta and hosted the walk held in Morinville from 1985 until 2014, setting out trails and cooking the wonderful food for the luncheon. Helen has also served as the Care and Concern coordinator for the St. Albert Trekkers from 2004-2013. Over the years, she has introduced many newcomers to volkssport and especially with her husband Jim, provided rides for others to events. Both volunteered for bingos, casinos, event checkpoints and Helen contributed photos for the annual Event Calendar.   


Bob (deceased 2017) & Billie Collins
These founding members of the Devon Discovery Walkers have served in many positions since 1991. Billie as Trails, Social Convenor, and Treasurer; Bob as Trails, Secretary, Treasurer, Vice President, President, & Past President. They have both served the VAA as Directors and were involved with both of the Jasper to Lake Louise eight day walks. Bob also helped the VAA on the nominating committee and with VAA events, as well as serving as the Sanction Coordinator for the province for four years. They both retired from active positions in 2012.